Event Details

Sat, 3 - Sun, 4 Apr 2021

Sat: 7.30pm | Sun: 4pm

Victoria Concert Hall

Event has ended

The T’ang Quartet, Singapore’s most renowned string quartet, joins musicians of the SSO in a concert of string masterpieces. The string sextet from Richard Strauss’s last opera, Capriccio, is a deliberate throwback to the luscious soundscapes of the late-Romantic. But it was written in 1941, sixteen years after the dark wanderings of Shostakovich’s Prelude and Scherzo, when the Russian master was just 18. Brahms’s String Sextet No. 1 too is a work from his youth, its heady beauty a thoughtful contrast to these two 20th century works.

FORMAT: This will be a live concert held at the Victoria Concert Hall.


  • ● T'ang Quartet
  • ● Musician of the SSO


  • R.STRAUSS Capriccio, Op.85
  • SSHOSTAKOVICH Prelude and Scherzo for String Octet, Op. 11
  • BRAHMS String Sextet No.1 in B-flat major, Op.18



Approximately 1 hour (with no intermission)